Watercooling advice please :)

Discussion in 'Cooling / Overclocking' started by ipood, Jul 4, 2006.

Share This Page

1. ipood

ipood Registered User

Hi everybody!

I'm looking to upgrade my setup from air cooling to watercooling and as my current case is just not big enough to cope and I'm new to watercooling, I would like some advice from the people in the know. I am looking at Lian Li G70B Black / Evo 360 Kit Pre-Fitted with 1 x Aquacomputer Cuplex XT Block Athon64 & 2 x Aquacomputer AquagraFX6800LE / 7800GTGS / 7900GT Block.

What I would really like to know is am I making a good choice? I would like to overclock my CPU & GPU'S and make the whole thing quieter than my current aircooled setup :D and will i need any other bits to go with it? I would really like to get this spot on and i have a budget of about £1000 all in (including the parts listed above)

Here are the specs:
    skt 939 X2 4200+ CPU
    ABIT A8V Fatality SLi
    Corsair 2GB DDR XMS4400 Pro TwinX
    2 x XFX 7800GT's
    Tagan 480w SLi PSU

Any input would be most welcome :)

2. pdf27

pdf27 Homicidal Pacifist

This may be rather a lengthy post (or set of posts) as I'm bored to tears sitting in the lab at work trying to persuade a mass flow controller to talk to the PC it's attached to by an RS-232 line. It listens to what I say about half the time, but never replies :mad:
    Anyway....

A lot depends on what you're after.
    - If you're after absolute silence it's a pretty good system, but you would probably want to change the fans and possibly replace the radiator with a different model (e.g. Thermochill PA series) before you were absolutely happy with it. It all depends on your standards - to me, my system is still a little bit loud, and the only part I can hear is the fan on my Seasonic S12 (just about the quietest fanned PSU you can get).