Sp3?

Discussion in 'Software' started by dylanmikagami, May 7, 2008.

Share This Page

  1. dylanmikagami

    dylanmikagami Flame Master

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone got the XP SP3 yet? Its available via windows update. I was just wondering if it is stable and reliable?

    cheers
     
  2. Fireblade

    Fireblade Mental Modder[ator]!!

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    The fact it's now available through Windows Update, would suggest Microsoft are happy the original problem/bug has been fixed.

    And I know folks who've been using XP SP3 since it first became available (i.e. before it was officially withdrawn) without any problem ;)
     
  3. Tom

    Tom Merrrrrr

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    4,147
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've successfully installed the RC on a laptop here at work - didn't have a problem :)
     
  4. latency

    latency Existentialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    8,780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are there any new features (like with SP2), or is it just a security roll up?
     
  5. jacobzcoool

    jacobzcoool Chav Hunter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,447
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't bothered with it yet, waiting until they fix all the bugs first :p
     
  6. Beatdown

    Beatdown Super Kustomer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    im downloading it now,

    i sure hope it dosent update my media player to 11, i really like 10
     
  7. Tami

    Tami Old Sod Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. dylanmikagami

    dylanmikagami Flame Master

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea I was just looking on how people think it is or if its worth downloading yet or not:)
     
  9. Fireblade

    Fireblade Mental Modder[ator]!!

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can read the official "List of fixes" here ;)
     
  10. Westy5

    Westy5 Space

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's more of a wrap-up of post SP2 updates, so much more use for a re-install
     
  11. LSG501

    LSG501 You can call me Levi

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    0
    SP3 wasn't much of a performance boost in my view (probably the crap laptop) but the one thing that made it worth it for me was that it now networks (folders and printers) with my vista x64 machines without any issues :eek:
    Now just got to check out remote desktop work and I'll be a happy chappy :rolleyes:
     
  12. Osiris

    Osiris Gentleman and Scholar

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only problem had was it replaced the uxtheme.dll file, meaning custom themes didn't work.

    Quick fix later and it's all good. No major bugs to report.
     
  13. DarkEntity

    DarkEntity Im Skint, Bugger Off

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,605
    Likes Received:
    0
    No issues here, if anything the machine seems to be quicker....
     
  14. Tom

    Tom Merrrrrr

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    4,147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, there seem to be a few issues emerging. Not really show-stoppers, but some may find this link to be useful.

    Pretty-much guarantee we'll have someone starting threads for just these reasons in due course. :)
     
  15. Affro

    Affro Regular Kustomer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone experienced the issues with the AMD processors and SP3?

    so far it's been no different from SP2 for me.
     
  16. Tom

    Tom Merrrrrr

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    4,147
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's only one machine here at work with an AMD CPU and XP SP3, and from what I can gather:

    1) If it's not an OEM installation and,
    2) You aren't running the aforementioned Asus A8N x32 SLI board,

    Then you'll be fine. And the machine in question has neither of those, and thus.. Is OK :)
     
  17. LSG501

    LSG501 You can call me Levi

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    0
    all my rigs are amd and apart from a slow boot up (bloated add-ons) nothing majorly wrong during that stage of sp3