Quick: which processor is better?

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor PCs' started by slicknshady, Sep 1, 2010.

Share This Page

1. slicknshady

slicknshady New Member

Intel Core I5 661 Dual core CPU 3.33GHz (900Mhz GPU)

or

AMD Phenom II X4 945 (3.0ghz) 8mb cache

I think its the first but I'm new to all this. Thanks

2. rossmckillop-1

rossmckillop-1 New Member

Hi
    The first one has a higher clock speed but it is a dual core whereas the second is a quad core therefore the second one would be faster :D

3. Cosmo_1847

Cosmo_1847 Kiss of death

Please wait for more comments before making up your mind :)

4. slicknshady

slicknshady New Member

What do you think Cosmo?

5. Cosmo_1847

Cosmo_1847 Kiss of death

The Intel i5 661 doesn't features TXT (whatever that is) but it does include hyper threading, this gives you 4 logical cores. The i5 750 doesn't include Hyper Threading but does have four physical cores at 2.66Ghz for about the same price. Assuming you don't need the intergraded graphics card.

As Latency has said else where on the forums the AMD is more future proof because of the AM3 socket. For example you can't upgrade from a quad core i5 to a six core i7 because they use a different socket but nearly all of AMD's consumer range use the same socket.

Speed has never really been a good measurement of different processors families. Whilst one might be faster it might perform far worse than a slower processor. Depending on what you plan to do with your comptuer. More speed might be a better choice than more cores.

6. latency

latency Existentialist

Yea I'd go with the AMD as well.

As cosmo said that I said, the AM3 is a stronger platform at the moment, with a much wider range of chips available for later upgrades.

Multi-core is the future, and you could clock that X4 up to 3.33GHz straight out the box with no modification anyway, so that brings it out on top as well.