I am a Noob but...

Discussion in 'Signature Test Area' started by Egon, Mar 13, 2010.

Share This Page

  1. Egon

    Egon total protonic reversal

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had a quick scan through the user PC, how the duece do I add a sig? Can't find the option anywhere.

    Pretty sure I'm gonna facepalm myself when I get a reply lol :eek:
     
  2. Vicey

    Vicey Regular Kustomer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Egon

    Egon total protonic reversal

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Facepalm. Cheers
     
  4. Oscar99

    Oscar99 Kustomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Somehow i am not permitted to have a signature.
     
  5. Graeme*Kustom*

    Graeme*Kustom* Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2001
    Messages:
    13,941
    Likes Received:
    6
    Once you have been registered for 5 days and have 5 posts the signature option becomes available.

    Only just because a lot of accounts were being registered for spamming we set it so that new accounts could not set up a signature, sorry about that.
     
  6. Egon

    Egon total protonic reversal

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fair enough, thought I was going crazy....er lol
     
  7. Oscar99

    Oscar99 Kustomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0

    Oh i see - i should have the option now :D

    EDIT: Must take a wee while to kick in :p
     
  8. Cosmo_1847

    Cosmo_1847 Kiss of death

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've just had a quick look and set a test signature for you. Having a look at your last post the signature is set not to display.
     
  9. Oscar99

    Oscar99 Kustomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's sorted now - cheerz :)
     
  10. latency

    latency Existentialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    8,780
    Likes Received:
    0
    We don't take kindly to HOOGE IMAGE SIGS 'ere.

    I don't anyway :p
     
  11. Cosmo_1847

    Cosmo_1847 Kiss of death

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Personally i think the image is alright but I'd like the text under it to be smaller. Then again the image happens to be the perfect size for my web brower window, if it was bigger it would distort the width of the website on my browser and I'd make you change it. So I see the point latency has and it might be an idea to scale the image down a bit.
     
  12. TriggerHappy

    TriggerHappy Obey Him

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe the forum is of a fixed width rather than a percentage these days Cosmo ;)

    The sig is not overly big, but smaller is better.
     
  13. Cosmo_1847

    Cosmo_1847 Kiss of death

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Damn you're right, I set the width of my browser to the width of the forum. In that case I think the pic is alright.
     
  14. Oscar99

    Oscar99 Kustomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    my sig any better now ?
     
  15. Cosmo_1847

    Cosmo_1847 Kiss of death

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks good to me :)
     
  16. latency

    latency Existentialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    8,780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still too big IMHO, aside from the fact that it's distorting the dimensions of the website on my screen...
     
  17. Oscar99

    Oscar99 Kustomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then get a bigger screen :p In this day & age people tend to have larger screens :p

    besides, how can it distort your page when its the same width of a post, text or image, it doesn't really matter does it ? ?
     
  18. latency

    latency Existentialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    8,780
    Likes Received:
    0
    1440x900 is more than adequate for web browsing- the forum itself is fixed at 1024 wide...

    I say 'distort the page', but actually it only distorts your posts, the User column on the left of the post box is getting squashed in, which in a pedantic way is making the page uneven, and thus harder to read...

    Your actual messages are the most inconspicuous part of the entire post- doesn't speak well for the message...

    But hey, I'm the only one kicking up a fuss, so go ahead ;)

    Just notice how no one else here has an image sig bigger than 400 wide, and wonder why...
     
  19. Fat Jez

    Fat Jez Master of the High Five!

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having turned sigs on especially, I'd have to agree with Latency. The width of the signature graphic is wider than that of the post area, which does force the user area to be thinner. Personally, I don't think signature graphics should be wider than the post area.
     
  20. Oscar99

    Oscar99 Kustomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay i've removed my signature. Just have my system specs in it now.