Hosting Company

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Verbyl.Belch, May 13, 2008.

Share This Page

1. Verbyl.Belch

Verbyl.Belch Registered (Promoted)

Hi

I need a hosting company for a website to display my photos and perhaps a blog. So far i have seen Hostmonster.com, which seem to offer a great service relatively cheap, $7/mo (for 24month):

Unlimited Bandwidth.
    Hosting space.
    Unlimited domains.

I'm not sure if this is one of those hosting companys that promise the earth but actually don't deliver. The website wouldn't have high traffic so there may be a better hosting package/company suited to my needs.

Cheers

2. LSG501

LSG501 You can call me Levi

Now please note I have no experience with this company so can't say how good they are but on another forum they say they're pretty good.

000webhost they're free so at the very least could be worth a try :)

3. six5tring

six5tring Silent Kristian Konsumer

Check max file size. I had an unlimited everythng host but they didn't allow files over 4mb!

six

4. LSG501

I've just set up a test account on 000webhost (linky)
    You can compare it to my paid hosting here
    (note this is my work site so mods feel free to remove if you wish)
    php script for mailing seems to work fine too unlike my paid host - dealing with it again tomorrow!!!!!!
    000webhost has a php which is newer than my paid for host too :rolleyes:
    for php info click here

5. Verbyl.Belch

Thanks for that LSG501.

Definately looks like a good option for the short term (long-term if the max web space isn't too restrictive).

Don't suppose you could recommend a good company for domain name registration? It seems UK sites cost more than US sites 1£=1$ but i need a (non maxed out :eek:) credit card to pay on the US sites .

Cheers

6. LSG501

have a look at their paid for options too, seems reasonably priced to me.