First build improvement help

Discussion in 'Silent PC's' started by Hoor_Paar_Kraat, Jun 13, 2013.

Share This Page

1. Hoor_Paar_Kraat

Hoor_Paar_Kraat New Member

Hey all, looking for some advice or help on how to go improving my performance while keeping the system nice and quiet, This was my first build and I have very little experience with hardware, although I have a degree in programming so I am always around computers. :)

I use it only for audio and I do have a number of restrictions so I need to have certain slots available etc.

Ok here is the spec run down

Case - Fractal R4
    Mobo - Asus M5A78L (This was the best board with 3 PCI Slots I could find)
    Cpu - AMD Bulldozer FX-8120, 3.1 GHz
    RAM - 32GB Corsair Vengence, 1600MHz
    Gpu - Radeon HD 5450 (best 1 slot, no fan card I could find)
    Boot Drive - Kingston HyperX SSD 120GB
    Storage - Samsung HD 500GB
    Power Supply - Corsair CX600M

I have a few cards installed; 2x USB3, 4 connection PCI Express card and 2x M-Audio Delta 1010

I have the stock Cpu cooler installed and 2 Fractal 140mm Silent Series fans, one at the exhaust and one on the front.

Ok, so what in your opinion should I do/buy?

I was looking at the corsair H100i, I know this is probably overkill as I doubt I will be attempting to overclock the machine, but I think the unit looks cracking! I would like to water cool the whole set up but I'm defo not gonna attempt it any time soon. Also the AMD cpu fan is the only thing about the system that makes a noise!

I was also going to the get the windowed side panel and install some internal lighting although I have no idea how to do this at the moment!

Sorry for the stupidly long post, any help or input would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

P.s I was going to include a few pics of the unit but the light has just blown so they won't turn out very well. Can always do it in the morning.

2. latency

latency Existentialist