Chromebook without a Google account

Discussion in 'Software' started by Cosmo_1847, Mar 16, 2015.

Share This Page

1. Cosmo_1847

Cosmo_1847 Kiss of death

I don't have a Google account and I don't want one but I'm thinking of getting a Chromebook. Can I use a Chromebook without a Google account?

I've kinda noticed that all I do is browse the web, IRC and YouTube on my mac mini so I was thinking of getting a Chromebook as a little laptop I can use around the house and at work for this and taking notes.

Edit: I'm a web developer so it would be cool is I could run some software for making sites locally.

2. Chenks

Chenks Registered Trader

it's a chromebook running google's OS and tied in to google's services.
    i have one (that i don't use) and i don't recall being able to get past the log in screen without some sort of google account.

basically if you don't want a google account then a chromebook is not for you.

edit - you can use the chromebook without a google account in guest mode. but it'll essentially lose all your settings every time your sessions ends.

3. Samsonite

Samsonite Mine's a frosty one

Do you have a YouTube account? That is a Google account - just a thought as if you actually have a Google account such as Youtube you may as well use it (if you want a Chromebook).

4. Cosmo_1847

Cosmo_1847 Kiss of death

The only google account I have is my work one. I was just wondering if it could be used as a normal low power little laptop or if I could put linux on it. I do have a alright laptop atm but it's just bulky.

5. Chenks

Chenks Registered Trader

it can be used a low power laptop using the Chrome OS that is pre-installed, but you need a google account to be able to use it properly.
    it has a guest mode, but it doesn't save any profile settings, and you'll need a google account to be able to install any extensions or apps.

6. Cosmo_1847

Cosmo_1847 Kiss of death

7. Chenks

Chenks Registered Trader